NC Zoo frogs

I was standing on a wooden bridge at the zoo looking at lemurs, when I suddenly noticed these delightful little frogs practically at my feet. Of course I had to click a few photos of them in their green little world. The frogs were very cooperative and didn’t move a muscle.

When I checked the photos on my computer, this one was an “almost good” photo that just needed a bit of work. As we know, that is my favorite type of photo because I get to have fun fixing it using Picasa.

The photo’s biggest problems are from the strong sunlight that day. You can see in the original photo below that the water plants are mostly white and fairly blinding to the eyes, plus the photo has very little shadow and contrast.

I used these steps to make the photo more interesting:

  • Auto-contrast
  • Tuning
  • Saturation
  • HDR-ish
  • Posterize
  • Tuning
  • Border

HDR-ish helps give a strong definition to the forms. Posterize limits the color palette so that the strong white transforms into a more muted light greenish color. Posterize also helps create color blocks of shadows.

NC Zoo frogs original

