nc-zoo-lions-2

What do big cats like to do on sunny days? Sit on big rocks and sun themselves. The lions looked pretty relaxed when we were at the NC Zoo. In fact, they were enjoying the sun so much that they arranged themselves into a nice little composition for me.

I wanted to focus in on the lions plus make the photo more interesting and personalized. I used these Picasa steps to crop and enhance:

  • Auto contrast
  • Sharpen
  • Saturation
  • Crop
  • Orton-ish
  • Posterize
  • Comic book
  • Graduated tint
  • Border
  • Orton-ish
  • Crop

I like the finished photo quite a bit. The warm, strong colors are really striking.

However, the photo has high contrast between sunny areas and shadows. I wasn’t able to reduce that contrast and it is distracting.

It was a fun experiment and improved my photo editing skills. I’m sure I’ll use these same Picasa steps on other photos. Practice makes better!

nc-zoo-lions-original-700

 

