nc-zoo-owl-2

Beautiful barred owl…bad fuzzy image. Fortunately, I have lots of experience making better photos from my many poor quality photos.

The owl was perched in an inside cage with limited lighting. I took this photo without a tripod, so I’m lucky it’s no worse than it is, below. It needed improvement in every area.

I spent a lot of time trying to get the colors corrected but nothing would work. I finally was inspired to try a black and white image. That was the ticket – the final photo looks like I took the snapshot outside in the dark.

I ended up using a lot of Picasa fixes. Even though the final photo above is in black and white, each color edit changed the image a bit:

  • Crop
  • Auto contrast
  • Tuning
  • Sharpen
  • Glow
  • Boost
  • HDR-ish
  • Saturation
  • Soft focus
  • Vignette
  • Orton-ish
  • Neon
  • Filtered black and white
  • Posterize
  • Border

nc-zoo-owl-original-650

 

 

