I just got back from visiting Lancaster, PA over Christmas. It was a great visit but the smog in rural Lancaster County is really incredible. Some days were so bad that I started to feel symptoms like when I had pneumonia. Fortunately I have an emergency asthma inhaler that helped a lot.

Occasionally I think I’d like to move back to the area, but since I have asthma, I couldn’t even consider living in Lancaster County again. The smog and soot would probably take ten or fifteen years off of my life.

I checked online why Lancaster air quality is so bad and it is a combination of factors both inside and outside of the county. If you’re interested the article is here:

http://lancasteronline.com/news/local/report-lancaster-county-s-soot-pollution-worst-anywhere-east-of/article_2a6a1a0e-071d-11e6-bf2b-c342f953c487.html

I did my usual driving around taking photos, and you can really see the pollution in the air. Below are my scenic but shockingly polluted pics from that visit. Notice the pinkish pollution areas at ground level.

lanc-co-smog-edition-farm-3lanc-co-smog-edition-farm-2lanc-co-smog-edition-farm-1

lanc-co-smog-edition-street

 

 

 

 

 

 

