Disneyworld night shot of Main Street

Disney World! My favorite place. This photo is from a 1996 visit, one of the four times I have been there. As always, it was a fabulous vacation.

This is a twilight shot of Main Street USA in the Magic Kingdom. I was walking through a connecting side street to get to the parade area and saw this juxtaposition of the moon, soft twilight, and bright electric lights.

The combination was so lovely that I tried one of my iffy nighttime photos. It came out surprisingly well, below. It just needed a few fixes to make the photo attractive enough to be a great memory in my photo album.

I used these Picasa steps to get the velvety look above:

  • Straighten
  • Crop
  • Auto contrast
  • I’m feeling lucky
  • Tuning (I used tuning several times because it was difficult to get the twilight lighting to be acceptable)
  • Sharpen
  • Orton-ish
  • Border

After I had all my fixes in Picasa done, I opened the photo in Paint to delete the orange date and to cover some odd white splotches appearing throughout the scanned print.

Disney World night shot of Main Street original 750

 

