Farm with mist 1000

It’s been a boring winter and I haven’t been taking photos lately due to both cold weather and no vacation trips. Instead, I’ve been going through my most boring photos, the ones that have just barely been saved from the delete button, to see if I can make something interesting out of them using Picasa.

I took the original boring photo, below, last summer in Lancaster County PA. It’s ended up being one of my favorite fixed-up photos.

I’ve discovered that when using multiple effects in Picasa the result is an almost illustration-like appearance. I combined these Picasa effects to transform the photo from a hazy composition with no clear focal point to a cropped, atmospheric portrayal of a farm:

  • Crop
  • Tuning (to brighten photo significantly and slightly increase shadows)
  • Saturation
  • Cross process
  • HDR-ish
  • Orton-ish
  • Boost
  • Posterize
  • Comic book
  • Border

Farm with mist original 750

