Japan Tokyo store shrine color 750

This photo is of a temple at the top of department store in Tokyo in 1990. Space was at such a premium that even the roofs of buildings would have areas open to the public. I remember that this store had not only an outside temple, but a children’s area and a refreshment stand.

As I worked on this photo, I realized that it wasn’t really very interesting because the colors were dull and the composition was flat. As always, though, I had to work with what I had. I was able to transform the photo with cropping and experimenting with Picasa effects to give it rich colors and depth. The effects include straighten, sharpen, tuning, graduated tint, crop, auto contrast, Orton-ish, cross process, comic book, I’m feeling lucky, border and two museum mattes.

Japan Tokyo store shrine original 750

