Japan plastic food color 750

As we walked around Tokyo in 1990, we quickly realized that the restaurant food displays were actually plastic. The displays were very realistic and quite attractive. The dishes were usually numbered in addition to being labeled in Japanese characters, and the numbers were really helpful when placing orders.

Since the labels were in Japanese characters I usually didn’t know exactly what I ordered and was horrified when one noodle dish was not just full of vegetables but also full of tentacles. Some differences in cooking and culture are more difficult to get used to than others!

The Picasa steps I used to enhance the photo include my usual fixes of auto contrast, straighten, I’m feeling lucky, crop, tuning, sharpen, boost and museum matte.

Japan plastic food original 750

