Oak Island Beach color 750

No trip to eastern NC is complete without a visit to the beach and a relaxing day enjoying sun and ocean. Oak Island is one of my favorites because it is beautiful, not crowded and has plenty of free parking.

I love the rich colors I was able to achieve on this photo. I think it would work well made into one of those textured oil paintings created by computer.

The photo was surprisingly difficult to frame, any borders with color were too heavy and detracted from the simplicity of the photo. I finally settled on this frame, which reminds me of traditional beach house architecture.

The Picasa steps used on the original below were:

  • Auto color
  • Auto contrast
  • I’m feeling lucky
  • Tuning
  • Saturation
  • Orton-ish
  • Drop shadow
  • Museum matte

Oak Island Beach original 750

