Tryon Palace folly color resized 750

This is the folly in Tryon Palace’s garden, built in a Greek revival style. A folly is a building built for outdoor garden decoration, usually impractical and extravagant. Follies are typically placed in open areas that provide vantage points for deciding where to explore next.

I enjoy garden follies, especially when I’ve been walking for a few hours. They provide a nice place to rest for a bit. They’re also ideal photographic subjects.

I wanted to give the photo a hazy, slightly dreamy look, so this picture was ideal for trying out Picasa’s soft focus feature. I find that soft focus works better if you sharpen the photo first.

This is the sequence used to edit and soften the original photograph, below:

  • Crop
  • Straighten
  • Tuning
  • Sharpen
  • Film Grain
  • Soft Focus
  • Vignette
  • Museum Matte
  • Auto contrast
  • Auto color
  • I’m feeling lucky

Tryon Palace folly original resized 750

