Tryon Palace Latham Garden bw resized 750

The many gardens at Tryon Palace in New Bern NC are really beautiful. The site restorers were unsure of the actual designs, so they set up 18th century period gardens with a French influence. This particular garden is called Latham Garden. Holly plants are used to make the swirling hedges in a “parterre” style, and the result is gorgeous.

My original photo is at the bottom. I was playing with different effects and came up with two photo variations that accented the garden features.

First, the rounded corners of the black and white version above highlight the swirling and sculptural qualities of the garden design. I love the old fashioned look.

The color version uses a combination of effects to enhance the green colors and rich textures in the photo. It has a very peaceful and elegant look.

Tryon Palace Latham Garden color resized 750

I used some new combinations of effects:

  • For the black and white photo, I used infrared film, pencil sketch, crop, auto contrast, auto color, I’m feeling lucky, and border.
  • For the color photo, I used boost, vignette, Orton-ish, graduated tint, feeling lucky, comic book, and museum matte.

Below is the original photo.

Tryon Palace Latham Garden original resized 750

