Tryon palace front color resized 750

This is Tryon Palace at New Bern, NC. It is the original NC governor’s mansion built in 1770 and later restored. The area around the Palace is surrounded by historic homes both public and private. The historic atmosphere is well done throughout the town. I had no problem visualizing life in colonial times – and I have a new appreciation for the joys of living during our current time period.

We found the people in both the town and historic areas to be very friendly, and we had a great time.

I was trying hard to get a good picture of the front of the Palace, but it was always full of people. I finally managed to get a picture with two people hidden behind the middle brick column. I thought I wanted a more centered picture, but I do like this photo a lot. Once I adjusted the color and contrast the house elements ended up being very differentiated and easy to see.

The Picasa steps I used to brighten up the picture were:

  • Auto contrast
  • Auto color
  • I’m feeling lucky
  • Tuning
  • Auto contrast
  • Crop
  • Straighten
  • Orton-ish
  • Border
  • Museum matte

Tryon palace front original resized 750

