Yakutat Bay color resized 1500

This is my perfect photo from Alaska. All I needed to do was find the best way to crop it, which was harder than it sounds. There were so many options it took me a long time to find what I thought was the best format.

This picture was taken from the cruise ship in late afternoon as we headed away from Hubbard Glacier. The sunlight slanting from the left really adds depth to the photo and makes it all the more impressive. That small boat in the picture is actually a giant cruise ship in the distance. Without that ship you wouldn’t get a sense of just how large and imposing those mountains appear.

This was the trip of a lifetime for me and I would recommend it to anyone. The cruise line was Holland America. Their reputation for excellence is well-deserved in every way. My sister and I did many shore activities, including snorkeling in dry suits and flying as passengers in a small plane over glaciers to Taku Lodge for lunch.

