Sitka woods path resized 750

We already know how much I love transforming my tree pictures into brighter and more interesting compositions. For this photo, I wanted to add a sense of light and height like a tranquil outdoor cathedral.

I wanted to brighten it up but wasn’t quite sure how to manage it. I ended up trying practically every trick in the Picasa book, but the final result was worth the effort.

I used all of these steps in the sequence listed:

  • Crop
  • Auto contrast
  • Sharpen
  • Saturation
  • Glow
  • Cinemascope
  • Orton-ish
  • Cross process
  • Auto contrast
  • Vignette
  • Museum matte

This is a picture from my cruise to Alaska, taken at the Sitka National Historical Park on a fairly overcast day. What a difference from the original, below.

Sitka woods path original resized 750

