All photos use subtle shapes in their composition to help move your eyes around the photo. This photo uses pronounced half circle and square motifs with symmetry as essential elements in creating an elegant, strong composition.

This picture is from a 2011 trip to Tryon Palace in New Bern, NC. It was really a wonderful place to visit with colonial buildings and lovely gardens. I very much enjoyed experimenting with the photos I took there.

Tryon palace stables sepia resized 750

It’s hard to believe that the final composition was cropped out of the original photo below. The steps I used in Picasa were:

  • Crop
  • Sepia
  • Auto contrast
  • I’m feeling lucky
  • Tuning
  • Vignette
  • Boost
  • Border

I experimented using sepia, black and white, and color variations. The most successful picture was the vertically cropped sepia version. The color photo seemed to lack continuity and the B&W photo lacked interest. I really like the finished photo above and I’ll add it to my sepia photo collection.

Tryon palace stables resized 750

 

