Yellowstone mountains color resized 1000

I still marvel at how Picasa can transform a “meh” photo into something special. Above is the finished product created from the original scanned photo at the bottom of this page.

The photo was taken during an early spring driving trip in 2002. It is a view of a mountain range in Yellowstone National Park, and it started to snow just a little later. I was happy I could finally get such a lovely finished picture from my cloudy day overcast photo.

The steps are:

  • Crop
  • Auto contrast
  • Tuning
  • Sharpen
  • Graduated tint (to tone down the light sky)
  • Orton-ish
  • Border

This photo was so much better than my sepia or black and white efforts that I won’t even post them. They just weren’t as interesting without the contrasting colors of sky and ground.

Yellowstone mountains original resized 750

