Alamo tree sepia resized 750

I take lots of pictures of old and gnarly trees. This one was at the Alamo in San Antonio.

The patterns of the fantastic branches and rough bark textures are irresistible to me. However, these pictures are usually not particularly interesting. I’ve found that Picasa can make my beloved yet ho-hum tree pictures into some special art.

These types of photo transformations take lots of experimentation and patience while you try adjusting the various effects. But it is so much fun and the end result looks so good! When you’re trying to accent texture it usually works best to keep the color minimal and to crop as much as possible.

For this photo I used:

  • Sepia
  • Crop
  • Fill light
  • Tuning
  • Sharpen
  • HDR-ish
  • Boost
  • Museum matte (2)
  • And a final tuning to warm up the colors

This is the original:

Alamo tree original resized 750

 

