I love trying to capture butterfly photos with my camera. Unfortunately, it has a small delay after the click so I can hardly ever get a good picture of the wings. I was excited to see how I could save this pic using Picasa magic.

For the color picture, I did not really need to use that many editing steps to get a much better photo: auto contrast, I’m feeling lucky, tuning, sharpen and glow. Unfortunately the background is brighter than the butterfly and leaves, but the picture is much improved with a lovely clarity.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was able to create a very different lighting effect using the sepia tool. It took quite a bit of time and a lot of experimentation. The final picture used:

  • Sepia
  • Auto contrast
  • I’m feeling lucky
  • Holga-ish
  • Sepia
  • Warmify
  • Orton-ish
  • Lomo-ish
  • Border
  • Museum Matte

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now the photo is all about light and its effect on a butterfly’s wings and the delicate veining in the foliage.

The black and white version required only auto contrast and I’m feeling lucky:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I like the color, sepia and B&W versions. I’ll add all three to my photo albums.

Below is the original overexposed image. It’s hard to believe I got such good results from it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

