This is one of my favorite photo fixes because it really brings back vivid memories of my very exciting first trip overseas.

It starts with a scanned photo of Cat Street in Hong Kong.

Hong Kong Cat Street original resized 750

I tried my usual initial fix of cropping and auto contrast, but all that did was highlight the weird green area that runs through the center of the picture:

Hong Kong Cat Street color resized 750

I was eventually able to make an attractive sepia version, but it took some creativity and a lot of steps:

  • Sepia
  • Tuning
  • Sharpen
  • HDR-ish
  • Soften
  • Straighten
  • Crop
  • Auto contrast

And finally, I added a frame. I combined the drop shadow and museum matte frames, then used the vignette option to make the frame more mellow looking:

Hong Kong Cat Street sepia 1 resized 750

I like that version a lot.

To make a black and white version, I selected B&W, added auto-contrast and saved it, below. I tend to like the sepia photo better because the very subtle lavender, red and green colors combine to give the image more interest than just gray tones.

Hong Kong Cat Street B&W resized 750

I will add this photo to both my sepia and black and white photo collections.

